Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino

Cultures > Arid North > Inka in Chile

Environment and Location

Tawantinsuyu, the name given by the Inka to their empire, was divided into four large provinces with the Inka capital of Cuzco at the center. To the North was Kuntisuyu, to the East Antisuyu, and to the West, Chinchasuyu. The southern province of Kollasuyu extended southward into what is today part of Bolivia, northeast Argentina and Chile, ultimately extending just south of the Maipo River in Central Chile.